Ireland win Aga Khan Trophy at RDS Dublin Horse Show for first time since 2015 after tense jump-off

TEAM Ireland have won the Aga Khan Trophy after beating France in a tense play-off at the RDS this afternoon.

The victory marks Ireland’s first in the competition since 2015.


Irish team leader Michael Blake lifts the Aga Khan Trophy alongside riders Cian O’Connor, Shane Sweetnam, Conor Swail and 19-year-old Max Wachman
Conor Swail of Ireland competing on Count Me In


Conor Swail of Ireland competing on Count Me In


The Irish show jumping team of Max Wachman, Shane Sweetnam, Cian O’Connor, Conor Swail and Jack Ryan claimed victory after seeing the French in breathtaking fashion.

Conor Swail on Count Me clinched victory in the Nations Cup event, after Cian O’Connor and his horse Kilkenny forced a head-to-head play-off against the French team.

Marc Dilasser of France clocked 31.81 seconds after a clear round.

But it had to be for France as Swail and Count Me In clocked an impressive time of 30.31 to clinch victory for the Irish team.

Lorraine viewers mock multi-millionaire Vogue Williams amid sartorial confessions
Mom was left stunned when she learned what a cap of ketchup is actually for

Switzerland finished the event in third place.

Ireland last won the event in 2015, ending a seven-year wait as team leader.

Michael Blake and his riders hope to qualify for the Longines FEI Nations Cup final after the victory.

The season finale takes place in Barcelona, ​​Spain at the end of September.

Just last week, Ireland booked a place at the 2024 Olympics in Paris after finishing fourth at the ECCO FEI World Championships in Herning.

Blake said: “We are delighted to take an Olympic qualification spot at the very first opportunity as it now gives us two full years to prepare for the Games.”

Comments are closed.